3 Replies - 6107 Views - Last Post: 29 December 2012 - 01:38 PM

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Senior Design Project: Computer Networks and Security

Posted 26 September 2012 - 10:21 AM

I'm still a sophomore at my college and I was very interested in the Computer Networks and Security as my senior project area. I was wondering how I could possibly begin to start learning about this sort of stuff?

Here's the classes I'll be needing for comp networks and security: http://www.csun.edu/...cs/packages.pdf

I've also began watching a course of Computer Networks on cosmolearning.
Other than beginning to learn Unix (installed FreeBSD in a virtual machine to begin getting acquainted), what other things should I be doing to prepare myself so that once the time comes, I'll hopefully be prepared to take on any challenges?

Also, if I'm somehow in the wrong section or if there is a better-suited section for this, please inform me!

Thanks in advance.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Senior Design Project: Computer Networks and Security

• ninja DIC
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Senior Design Project: Computer Networks and Security

Posted 29 December 2012 - 12:06 AM

Hey lilVaratep, you are in the correct section. :)

Depending on your familiarity with networking, and computers, I'd suggest you should start by becoming acquainted with the terms and ideas behind networking. This will give you solid foundation to start learning more complex topics and ideas.

on the OS side of things, setting up a Virtual Machine to learn Linux/BSD is a good idea. I'd suggest find a simple internet service, maybe DNS, DHCP, a web server, and install the OS, the service, and configure them and make them run. From the command line. It may seem hard at first, if you've never done it (apologies if are more experience that my reply assumes, but you didn't really say, so I going with basics :) )