1 Replies - 10695 Views - Last Post: 06 October 2012 - 05:00 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Simple UDP client/server - Client program problem

Posted 28 September 2012 - 09:25 AM

Hello, I'm making simple client and server programs. The client just sends the message "HELLO" to the server and the server just sends back the time since epoch. However, the problem I'm having is how to setup my client so that it stops sending the same msg after it gets a response, while on the other hand, send another msg only if it doesn't get a response from the server. I'm very new to socket programming and Python so I apologize if my code is horrible x.x...

As of right now, the client continuously sends a msg and spams the server.

Server:
import socket
import time
server_socket = socket.socket(socket.AF_INET, socket.SOCK_DGRAM)	
server_socket.bind(('', 6666)) 				code

print "UDPServer Waiting for client on port 6666"

while True:
	dataFromClient, address = server_socket.recvfrom(256)
	if dataFromClient == "HELLO":
		epochTime = str(time.time())
		print epochTime
		server_socket.sendto(epochTime, address)
	else:
		print "( " ,address[0], " " , address[1] , " ) said : ", dataFromClient

Client:
import socket
client_socket = socket.socket(socket.AF_INET, socket.SOCK_DGRAM)	#This creates socket

while 1:
	data="HELLO"
	client_socket.sendto(data, ("localhost",6666))
	print "Sending request"
	recv_data, addr = client_socket.recvfrom(256)
	print recv_data

client_socket.close()

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Simple UDP client/server - Client program problem

• coderさん
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Simple UDP client/server - Client program problem

Posted 06 October 2012 - 05:00 AM

Hi,