4 Replies - 1797 Views - Last Post: 29 September 2012 - 02:37 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How to use less memory with a catalog?

Posted 28 September 2012 - 01:58 PM

I am a beginning programmer trying to create as many programs as I can to learn more about coding. My latest project is a photo album.

My problem is that with 100-150 medium resolution photos loaded into the program I am using over a gig of ram.

My program is structured as a main form with the gui to interact with an object I called archive, which contains simply a list of objects called albums, which has a string called name and a list of photo objects, which have a string name, a string caption and an image object.

The user opens a single album and all the photos inside are displayed in the form with controls to do basic things in like rotate, change the caption and name, move the photo from album to album and so on.

What I would like is a way to "unload" all of the other albums from the ram when the user selects the album they want to look at, but still be able to load them back up when they click on them in the album selection box.

How would I go about doing this?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How to use less memory with a catalog?

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How to use less memory with a catalog?

Posted 28 September 2012 - 02:38 PM

There is no 'special trick' for this. Memory is returned when Garbage Collection takes place on all objects that go out of scope.

If you have your variables (collections) defined to be accessible program-wide then they never go out of scope - so you don't get that memory back.