Using NetBeans

can a normal java file be converted to a project in NetBeans

Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 1973 Views - Last Post: 14 June 2007 - 05:35 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Using NetBeans

Posted 13 June 2007 - 12:40 PM

Ok, real novice here asking what may be a very simple and silly question.

I am taking a java class in my college and I have an inventory program, created in TextPad, that I need to create a GUI for. Is it possible to use NetBeans to create this GUI, and if so, does anyone know how to get the existing source code from the java files into the new project in netBeans?

I have checked the tutorial from netbeans but cannot seem to find a way of converting regular java files into projects so I can use the GUI creator…

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Using NetBeans

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Using NetBeans

Posted 13 June 2007 - 03:32 PM

View Postdgilmore286, on 13 Jun, 2007 - 12:40 PM, said:

Ok, real novice here asking what may be a very simple and silly question.

I am taking a java class in my college and I have an inventory program, created in TextPad, that I need to create a GUI for. Is it possible to use NetBeans to create this GUI, and if so, does anyone know how to get the existing source code from the java files into the new project in netBeans?

I have checked the tutorial from netbeans but cannot seem to find a way of converting regular java files into projects so I can use the GUI creator…

I haven't used netbeans for awhile because it pissed me off. However, assuming it hasn't changed much:
create a new project
mount a directory (and point it to where your project files are stored)

I don't remember how it dealt with packages, I believe that it treated the mount directory as the current package, and subdirectories as packages (like it should).