4 Replies - 447 Views - Last Post: 01 October 2012 - 11:14 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Putting PHP to practical use

Posted 30 September 2012 - 06:46 PM

I understand the concepts, syntax, and many of the functions of php. The problem I have run in to is in actually putting php to work on a project. I have no experience in web development, and a few things would be helpful, if someone would be so kind.

1. If someone could explain how to upload html/php files to a xampp run apache server, which is my localhost.
2. If someone could suggest some very simple/beginner projects for me to practice on. My main issues in understanding php is how to get it to interact with a mySQL database (although I am versed in mySQL).

As far as question one, I have "googled it", and have come up with suggestions to save it to the htdocs folder as the index page/another page. Then you could edit in a link on the index page. This doesn't work for me... When I try to save a new index page, my computer tells me, "that directory does not exist."

As far as the second one goes, it may sound like an odd request. I don't understand how to apply php, however, so it is difficult for me to conceptualize how to get a project done. I can write code, but everything that I have written so far has been purposeless. The most complicated thing I've done was automate dice rolls with modifiers for a game I play.

This inability to put my knowledge (although it is not extensive by any means) to good use has frustrated me to no end. Any help would be appreciated!

Also, any suggested reading is also welcome!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Putting PHP to practical use

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Putting PHP to practical use

Posted 30 September 2012 - 07:02 PM

POPULAR

1. If someone could explain how to upload html/php files to a xampp run apache server, which is my localhost.