1 Replies - 1221 Views - Last Post: 01 October 2012 - 03:22 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Javascript or pass data to Business Object?

Posted 01 October 2012 - 01:22 PM

Hi guys, I'm a student doing a project for my capstone programming class and I've run into a bit of a problem. The situation is I have a JSP page (services.jsp) that contains a checkbox and what I want it to do is to calculate the price of all checked items after the form. The project specs don't require transaction saving so I don't think this is a problem as long as I can carry the processed total onto another JSP or onto a Servlet. But anyway, I was wondering if Javascript is the way to go here or if I should somehow save the information into an object and useBean on a jsp to extract it. If Javascript is the consensus I'll move this topic to Javascript to get some tips on how to go about the problem. Here is the code, warning, it contains unfinished JS.
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
<html>
  <head>
   <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1">
   <title>Services</title>
   <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="main.css" />
   <script>
       function calculateTotal(){
       var total;
        var theForm = document.forms["optionform"]; {
        var selectedServices = theFrom.elements["selectedServices"];
        $(document).ready(function() {

$('input[type="checkbox"]').live('change', function() {
        calculateTotal();
    });

calculateTotal(); //do it for initial price
    });
   </script>
  </head>
    <body>
      <div id="container">
	<div id="header">
	  <p>Motor City Repair Services Menu</p>
	</div><!--end header-->
           <div id="optionform">
	     <p align="center">Choose Services From the Menu:</p>
               <form>
                <span><input type="checkbox" name="Oil and Filter Change">Oil and Filter Change: $21.00</span><br />