7 Replies - 3185 Views - Last Post: 02 October 2012 - 04:19 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How to count number of palindromes within a string?

Posted 01 October 2012 - 01:35 PM

Hey guys, I'm new here but I have a question that has been bothering me for a few days now. I am writing a program that counts the number of words, vowels, and palindromes within a string and I am stuck on the palindrome counting aspect of the program. So far the code I've written has yielded no result and I figured I would sign up and ask here. The purpose is to input code into the
int is_palindrome(char my_sen[])
function and then call upon it in my main method, but I need help on how to record a palindrome as I'm a beginner at C and programming itself. Here is my code so far.

#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>
#include <ctype.h>
#define SENTENCE 256

int main(void){

char my_sen[SENTENCE],my_sen2[SENTENCE], *s; //String that containts at most 256 as well as a pointer
int words = 1, count = 0; //Integer variables being defined
int i,vowel = 0, length;  //More definitions
printf("Enter a sentence: ");//Input sentence
gets(my_sen);//Receives and processes input
length = strlen(my_sen); //Stores the length of the input within length

for(i=0;my_sen[i] != '\0'; i++){
    if(my_sen[i]=='a' || my_sen[i]=='e' || my_sen[i]=='i' || my_sen[i]=='o' || my_sen[i]=='u' || //Loop that states if the input contains any of the following
       my_sen[i]=='A' || my_sen[i]=='E' || my_sen[i]=='I' || my_sen[i]=='O' || my_sen[i]=='U')   //characters(in this case, vowels), then it shall be
       {                                                                                         //stored to be later printed
           vowel++;
       }

if(my_sen[i]==' ' || my_sen[i]=='!' || my_sen[i]=='.' || my_sen[i]==',' || my_sen[i]==';' || //Similar to the vowel loop, but this time