Which language should I learn first and which program should I buy?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

22 Replies - 4528 Views - Last Post: 30 August 2007 - 07:42 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Which language should I learn first and which program should I buy?

Post icon  Posted 13 June 2007 - 11:49 PM

I'm a new computer science student and our professor asked me to install "turbo c" on my computer so that I can practice at home but based on my experience of trying to get into linux, i figured that there are probably lots of versions to choose from so thought I should do some research first. I found this site [http://www.codegear.com/en/products/turbo] and now I don't what to do.

Because the only experience that I have with coding was a Chemistry and computer applications class four years ago (I don't remember anything from that class at all) the web page I mentioned might as well be written in the language of the birds or something because I don't understand anything. I just need help in choosing which one to get.

Based on everything I've read so far I'm thinking of getting:

Visual basic and a book about it so that I can at least familiarize myself a little with reading code(because it seems that someone with a lot of patience can learn to use it even without the help on someone's professor) and then move on to turbo C++ (not delphi or turbo c#).

Does this sound right?

And can anyone recommend a good C++ and visual basic book to buy? Something that a total beginner can understand. I would really appreciate your help. Thank you.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Which language should I learn first and which program should I buy?

#2 GWatt  Icon User is online

• member icon

• View blog

Re: Which language should I learn first and which program should I buy?

Posted 14 June 2007 - 05:26 AM