3 Replies - 915 Views - Last Post: 11 October 2012 - 10:42 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

College student on the right track?

Posted 07 October 2012 - 05:37 AM

Hey everyone, I am a Computer Science major with a software concentration and have about three semesters left. As far as programming languages, I am in my second semester of C++. On top of that I have been teaching myself Java and Ruby through books and Youtube tutorials. I'm not having too much trouble with anything, just want to have a quick start after I graduate.

My main question would be about the world of GUI. It seems most of the stuff I have learned so in either of these languages has to do with the basic console outputs.
Is it essential to have the graphical design skills, or do many programmers in real world professional careers just strictly deal with the core of the program?

Also while I'm at it I have one more question. Next semester I am going to take an elective and I am deciding between Java and C#. Since I am already teaching myself Java, is it still good to get the college course experience as well or should I take C# and get another language in my arsenal?

Thanks in advance.
-Nigol

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: College student on the right track?

• Perfectly Squared ;)
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: College student on the right track?

Posted 07 October 2012 - 09:43 PM

Hello Nigol,

First of all, you are doing a great job on the programming front for a 2nd semester student. I studied Java only in my 6th semester so I certainly commend your initiative to learn something like Java at such an early stage. That will certainly give you an edge over your fellow classmates :)