9 Replies - 8530 Views - Last Post: 23 October 2012 - 09:45 AM

• This space intentionally left blank
  • member icon

• View blog

If I knew then what I'm learning now...

Posted 08 October 2012 - 04:20 PM

OK, I've finally decided that I'm going to learn the syntax of C#. Hah, pretty easy right? Sure, seeing that I have a lot of experience with VB.Net and they're really comparable. And that I can pretty much read C# source code and write a VB.Net version of said code. Here's the thing though. For all you people asking if you should learn C# first or VB.Net first (posing just those two). Let me recommend C# being your first language. Why? Well it's rules and syntax are very similar to other languages and I get the feeling that in becoming fluent with it that it will make other languages easier to pick up on and learn. Plus, once you get use to the fact that C# is case sensitive (aargh), it will be easier moving to vb because I feel like it's easier to go from being forced to be case sensitive to just make sure you spell it the same ;)

That damn semi-colon is going to be the death of me. Yea, I know why it's there, I just forget to type it and then have to move back up through the code and fix it.

So to keep this from being a rant and more of a discussion, I'd like to hear the thoughts of anyone else who's transitioned to C# from VB.Net and what you were hung up on during the transition. Plus if you had any methods to overcome them quickly or just from more and more programming.

I've decided to take a small program I wrote for work and convert it over to C# just to get use to these hang-ups I'm having.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: If I knew then what I'm learning now...

#2 Curtis Rutland  Icon User is online

• (╯□)╯︵ (~ .o.)~
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: If I knew then what I'm learning now...

Posted 09 October 2012 - 07:53 AM