7 Replies - 2876 Views - Last Post: 09 October 2012 - 09:43 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

New to Java! where should i begin?

Posted 09 October 2012 - 05:41 AM

Hey fellas,

I am totally new to programming. I just found this site and it is really helpful. But in this vast tutorial section, it is not orderly arranged so i couldnt know which should i read first. Please direct Me. Thanks a lot. :smile2:

To be more clearer, i want to start from a basic foundation of programming. ALl the concepts in it. And If it comes to language i prefer JAVA. Thanks.

I ADMIT. First mistake i did, i didnt go through the previews posts, where many of them asked the similar questions and got great answers too. I will check that out. :D And If you could help, please post any relevant tutorials for beginners. Thanks again

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: New to Java! where should i begin?

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: New to Java! where should i begin?

Posted 09 October 2012 - 07:03 AM

This question has indeed been asked so much on here, and I myself have even asked similar questions. What it really comes down to one thing. That one thing is motivation, do you have the motivation to read books about java, and follow all the examples rewriting them yourself, and running them for practice? It really takes tons of work to learn to be even decent at java. When I was in your situation I was asked a question here on D.I.C that I am going to re ask you. Do you want to be a coder, or do you want to code?
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 09 October 2012 - 07:06 AM

I would suggest finding a good book. If you want to learn something, read the book on it then put it into action. This website will help you with concepts, and code. This site will not help you get a complete start.

Java Programming Language By Ken Arnold, James Gosling, David Holmes (note this book is straight from the people who created java)