• +
  • Last »

143 Replies - 6849 Views - Last Post: 13 October 2012 - 01:05 PM

• New D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Is it important to know about GOTOs?

Posted 11 October 2012 - 06:43 AM

GOTOs are considered "evil", but does that mean they should be forbidden knowledge? Is it important to learn about GOTOs in order to understand why they are bad?

Evil or not, they do exist in a lot of code. When I worked as a VB maintenance coder (yup, 10 year old VB code - I don't know why anyone was writting VB in 2000 but I digress) I saw a lot of GOTOs. I can't imagine that not knowing about GOTOs would have made my life easier. Besides that we didn't really have the funds to fix hundreds of thousands of lines of legacy code just to remove GOTOs.

OO and patterns are much more dangerous than GOTOs, and we seem happy to teach them to first year students.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 2
  • +

Replies To: Is it important to know about GOTOs?

• Dreaming Coder
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Is it important to know about GOTOs?

Posted 11 October 2012 - 07:00 AM

POPULAR

There is quite a difference between knowing and teaching. Teaching by negative example is questionable; see this, it's crap, see this, it's good, now what was crap again?

There a many elements of any programming language that are best avoided, even if they are found in legacy code perpetuated because of that. Far better to note them as the archaic practices that have been set aside than dredge them up again. Let the dead rest in peace.

View PostG0rman, on 11 October 2012 - 09:43 AM, said:

OO and patterns are much more dangerous than GOTOs, and we seem happy to teach them to first year students.

Bullshit. Define dangerous.
Was This Post Helpful? 11
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 11 October 2012 - 07:11 AM

View Postbaavgai, on 11 October 2012 - 10:00 PM, said: