7 Replies - 2697 Views - Last Post: 15 October 2012 - 10:50 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

C# Farkle Game Problem - School Project - Code and Example Included

Posted 11 October 2012 - 10:29 PM

All,

This is my first time posting here so I hope that I get the posting procedures correct. I am currently taking a C# programming class and our teacher has assigned us a project that entails us designing a C# Farkle Game. If you haven't played Farkle before (which I haven't prior to taking this class) all you really need to know is it's basically like Yahtzee. You roll six dice and try to get the most points out of the dice you hold, then roll again but minus the dice you've already held aside... if that makes sense. Well, I have to create a form that controls the Farkle board then create another class that can ONLY be for code whos' sole purpose is to calculate the score of the held dice. However, the kicker is that I can't use any code that represents picture boxes, labels, text boxes, etc. Just old school c++ style code (i.e. arrays, ints, doubles, etc.).

Using the code below, my problem is that after the user rolls the dice and holds whatever dice/he she wants, I need a way to pass the dice that was held to the other class for calculating the best score. I can figure that out, however I can't figure out how to pass which dice was held to the other class. Since I can't use images, pictureboxes, etc. in the other class per my professor, my plan is as follows (starting after the 'Roll Dice' button has been clicked and the user checks which dice he/she wants to hold THEN clicks the 'Roll Dice' Button again):