7 Replies - 1131 Views - Last Post: 17 November 2012 - 10:10 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Hi IM new to XNA and wanted some help getting started.

Posted 16 October 2012 - 08:07 AM

Ok first things first is i plan on one day making a game. that day is a long way away as im not up to snuff so to say.

i just wanted to know if there is any free software availble that works easily with xna.

things like middleware for making maps animations AI and other vairious chores that could be easier done with and outside programm.

so far i have

Visual basic 2005 expresss
visual basic 2010 expresss
visual C# 2010 expresss
blender - for models
gimp2 - for textures

IM not really sure what else i will need and have no budget so if you could really give me a goood place to start then i would sincerly appreciate it.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Hi IM new to XNA and wanted some help getting started.

• XNArchitect
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Hi IM new to XNA and wanted some help getting started.

Posted 16 October 2012 - 08:12 AM

It looks like you've got a decent place to start. Now you just need to begin to learn how to write code. Don't expect to make massive leaps forward and be able to create games within a week or even a month. This is a long process that will take an indeterminable amount of time based on how much effort you put forth and how well you retain the knowledge you learn. Check out some tutorials online, including the ones here on Dream.In.Code and don't get discouraged if it takes you longer than you think it should.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 16 October 2012 - 08:46 AM

View PostKilorn, on 16 October 2012 - 08:12 AM, said: