9 Replies - 1178 Views - Last Post: 19 October 2012 - 03:29 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Major in Computational Mathematical Sciences?

Posted 16 October 2012 - 12:34 PM

I was originally a computer science major, but due to pure laziness in early semesters, I'm not entirely sure my GPA will skyrocket as soon, and I was instead enrolled in my secondary major. I was enrolled in computational mathematical sciences, and I am a transfer student from community college to university. The past few semesters however I have been more aspired to do better.

tl;dr: What is your take on this hybrid major of mathematics and computer science?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Major in Computational Mathematical Sciences?

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Major in Computational Mathematical Sciences?

Posted 16 October 2012 - 12:46 PM

What do you plan on doing with io?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 16 October 2012 - 12:48 PM

I wanted to get involved in software development. Data structures, algorithms and the like interest me, and just programming in general. Although my concern is the program may be well looked down upon in comparison with CS majors.

I enjoy math, and hope this change in curriculum will still open up the opportunities of the computer field I hope to study in.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 16 October 2012 - 12:49 PM

Typically a comp sci degree has quite a bit of math and often folks have a tacked on math minor from the electives. If you want to program so much why are you splitting time with a math major again?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Pragmatism over Dogma
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 16 October 2012 - 03:18 PM