4 Replies - 7277 Views - Last Post: 22 October 2012 - 01:11 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Question on simple calculator

Posted 18 October 2012 - 12:43 PM

Hey everyone. I'm fairly new to programming and the dream.in.code community. That being said, I decided to pick up perl as my first programming language. It was recommended to me for its ease of use and the fact that you can read it easily. Now, I wanted to create a very simple calculator program. I was able to do that, but I wanted to be able to type the word "finished" instead of hitting ctrl+z to end the program (no particular reason, really, I just wanted to experiment with the language. That's how you learn, right?). The problem is that I get an error saying "use of uninitialized value in print at line 11, <STDIN> line 1." I think I'm really missing something basic and just not paying attention. I'd appreciate any explanation and guidance. Anyway, here's the code:

#!/usr/bin/perl
#calc.pl
use warnings;
use strict;

my $finished = 0;

print "Welcome!\n";                           
print "Type 'finished', to exit.\n";
$|++; print "> ";
print eval, "\n> "
while chomp( $_ = <STDIN> );

$finished = <STDIN>;
die;

Thank you!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Question on simple calculator

• Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Question on simple calculator

Posted 18 October 2012 - 12:50 PM

** Topic moved to Perl & renamed title to be more descriptive **
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Perl Parson
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 19 October 2012 - 02:42 AM

View PostW4tchM4ker, on 18 October 2012 - 08:43 PM, said:

The problem is that I get an error saying "use of uninitialized value in print at line 11, <STDIN> line 1."

print eval, "\n> "

What do you expect that line to do?