4 Replies - 1544 Views - Last Post: 24 October 2012 - 06:32 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

School competitions

Posted 18 October 2012 - 04:30 PM

Do any of you guys have any good/funny/interesting stories about school programming competitions? I ask because my teacher signed me up for a C++ programming event. If I make state I get to go to Columbus, stay at a nice hotel, and I could even win a bit of cash. However, I'm also a tad nervous, mostly because I've never done anything like this before. So, I thought I'd ask other programmers how similar competitions went for them!

Also, if your curious about my competition, the first part is a simple online test of your C++ competencies. If you pass that, you go to regional. There you'll be given a 'real world' problem to work on for ninety minutes. Assuming you make it past that, you go to state. At state you do the same exact thing but the problem is far more difficult.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: School competitions

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Re: School competitions

Posted 23 October 2012 - 09:13 AM

I've competed several years through competitions in the national student-run organization SkillsUSA.

Posted Image

Depending on the number of competitors, you start at either a local or district competition involving a series of multiple choice questions on general programming concepts and i.t. theologies and a professional development test that the organization uses as a tie-breaker.