1 Replies - 4224 Views - Last Post: 22 October 2012 - 12:30 PM

#1 kociaku  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 20-October 12

step sequencer - need selected sounds to play on track

Posted 20 October 2012 - 02:36 PM

Hi,

I am writing code for a 16 step sequencer with 5 tracks

a sound of any given track can be activated/deactivated for any of the 16 steps.

So far I have 3 classes: Player, Track, Sound

At the moment I'm working on the Track class... for the time being i only have 4 sounds in my Track. I have a timer that and when i press play on a track it plays 4 times(can change it easily to 16) but it plays all the sounds...
my Sound class has a property active that changes alpha of the sBtn in a track. I can activate/deactivate the sounds in the track class and the alpha changes...
The problem is that I cannot figure out how to only play sounds in the track that active...
I'm thinking I should probably do it with an array somehow but a bit lost now...



the code for my Track:

package 
{
	import flash.display.MovieClip;
	import flash.events.Event;
	import flash.media.Sound;
	import flash.media.SoundChannel;
	import flash.net.URLRequest;
	//import flash.media.SoundTransform;
	import flash.events.MouseEvent;
	import flash.media.SoundTransform;
	import flash.utils.Timer;
	import flash.events.TimerEvent;

	public class Track extends MovieClip
	{
		private var mySound:Sound = new Sound();
		private var myChannel:SoundChannel;
		//private var lastPosition:Number = 0; // position of where the song is playing
		private var requestSound:URLRequest = new URLRequest("sound1.mp3");

		public var soundTimer:Timer = new Timer(500, 4);
		var sBtn:SoundBtn;// = new SoundBtn();

		var trackSounds:Array = new Array("sBtn1","sBtn2","sBtn3","sBtn4");
		var stepCounter:int = 0;


		var vTransform:SoundTransform = new SoundTransform();
		//vTransform.volume = .5;
		//var volumeTransform:SoundTransform = new SoundTransform();

		public function Track()
		{
			// constructor code
			trace("track created");
			this.playTrack.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, playSound);
			this.playDrum.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, playSoundDemo);
			mySound.addEventListener(Event.COMPLETE, soundLoaded);
			soundTimer.addEventListener(TimerEvent.TIMER, timerSoundPlay);
			soundTimer.addEventListener(TimerEvent.TIMER_COMPLETE, timerSoundComplete);
			mySound.load(requestSound);

		}


		function soundLoaded(e:Event)
		{
			//trace("loaded");
		}

                //this function is only to play the demo of the sound not the actual steps
		function playSoundDemo(e:MouseEvent)
		{
			myChannel = mySound.play();
			trace("sound played");
		}


		function playSound(e:MouseEvent)
		{
			soundTimer.start();
			trace("sound played");
		}

		function timerSoundComplete(e:TimerEvent)
		{
			soundTimer.reset();
		}

		function timerSoundPlay(e:TimerEvent)
		{	
			myChannel = mySound.play(); 
						
		}

	}

}




The SoundBtn class


package 
{
	import flash.events.Event;
	import flash.events.MouseEvent;
	import flash.display.MovieClip;
	import flash.media.Sound;
	import flash.media.SoundChannel;
	import flash.net.URLRequest;
	import flash.events.IOErrorEvent;
	import flash.media.SoundTransform;


	public class SoundBtn extends MovieClip
	{
		public var soundBtnActive:Boolean;

		public var _s:Sound;
		public var _sChannel:SoundChannel;
		public var volumeTransform:SoundTransform = new SoundTransform();


		public function SoundBtn()
		{
			// constructor code

			soundBtnActive = true;

			this.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, btnActive);


		}
		
		
		public function btnActive(e:MouseEvent)
		{


			if (soundBtnActive == true)
			{
				this.alpha = .5;
				this.soundBtnActive = false;
				trace("sound deactivated");

				

			}
			else
			{
				this.alpha = 1;
				this.soundBtnActive = true;
				trace("sound activated");

				

			}

		}

	}

}




I can also send/post fla.

Can you help please...

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: step sequencer - need selected sounds to play on track

#2 kociaku  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 20-October 12

Re: step sequencer - need selected sounds to play on track

Posted 22 October 2012 - 12:30 PM

I have solved the problem :bigsmile:
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1