11 Replies - 1269 Views - Last Post: 22 October 2012 - 10:18 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Is college necessary?

Posted 20 October 2012 - 03:14 PM

Hello guys,

So I made a pretty big mistake in my college choice. I chose a prestigious private university that I was absolutely in love with. Unfortunately that school came with a price that I can't keep up with. After family problems, surgeries, and other financial problems, I ended up having to drop out. So right now I have 2 full years of college finished and only one bloody class in computer science. Anyways, I'm working hard on trying to transfer to another school but I still owe money to the first school. I am beginning to wonder if it's even worth it to go back to school? How big is college in the decision making for who to hire? I'm a self taught web designer and I've taken a class in Java. I'm also a self taught iOS app developer although I haven't put anything out yet. So is it possible for a self taught programmer to get a job in the computer science field without finishing college?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Is college necessary?

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Is college necessary?

Posted 20 October 2012 - 03:27 PM

A degree only gets you in the door all else is you. That said I know of quite a few places won't look ate you without a degree
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 20 October 2012 - 03:28 PM

I know that a degree isn't all. What I'm hoping is that I can at least have an opportunity without a degree. Seems like most places around me are looking for a degree before all else.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

• Pancakes!
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 20 October 2012 - 04:41 PM

Only one of the developers in my office has a degree in CS. (out of five)
For what that's worth.