4 Replies - 1943 Views - Last Post: 17 November 2012 - 06:55 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Improving my programming skills by teaching myself?

Posted 20 October 2012 - 03:16 PM

'Ello all, I just had a -general- question about improving my programming skills outside of classes. Wasn't sure which forum this would be best for, but I have some of the basics of Java down (classes, object-oriented fundamentals, etc). I posted a topic about a declare of major issue where I am currently majoring in a computational mathematics program where the amount of comp sci classes are rather minimized, so I was wondering if there are any such techniques that may aid in teaching myself just how to get better in languages like Java (and other popular ones used nowadays), and the GUI aspect of it (I have no GUI experience yet).

Discuss. Any help would be appreciated.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Improving my programming skills by teaching myself?

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Improving my programming skills by teaching myself?

Posted 20 October 2012 - 08:37 PM

Yes.. you'll find when you leave the hallowed halls of learning self education is a must. I am the go-to guy for odd and off the wall projects since I can research, digest, and manifest results the quickest. End game - yes, learn as much as you can. How? By doing projects. Write them out like a project manager (reason, start, end, milestones, etc) and do them. Jump into group projects with people in your class.. compete online or in person. Do code jams.. basically - just DO MORE.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 20 October 2012 - 09:49 PM

Getting Better at Programming Java. :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 23 October 2012 - 11:49 AM