14 Replies - 3565 Views - Last Post: 07 January 2013 - 09:14 PM Rate Topic: -----

• Lurker
  • member icon

• View blog

Awful PHP

Posted 21 October 2012 - 01:33 PM

I was to preface this by saying I don't think I'm the best programmer in the world or anything, I'm not the type of person that goes around bashing other programmers work. I would much rather make suggestions on how one can improve their code, just as I am constantly being shown how to improve my work by the people here at D.I.C and the people I work with. That being said.. I just had to share this.

Ok so I have a side gig where I work as a contractor with my former full time employer. The company recently attained the services of a small local web development company to do some work on the project I work on. After the local company committed their stuff to source control I was asked to do a code review of their stuff to get an idea of their competency level. This is what I found.

First of all they were using deprecated mysql* functions for database access. Ok, not a big deal, even though the project has a Database class to do this stuff. I can see maybe they were not aware of this. Then I notice none of the incoming data is escaped in any way. It's wide open to SQL injection and XSS in literally dozens of places. This is when I started to get worried.

The site has members, people can register using Facebook in which case their Facebook id is stored along with their other account information. One of the things this company had to do was check if any of the logged in members Facebook friends were members of the site identified by the Facebook id we store. This is what I saw:

$users; 
$friendsList = $facebook->api($fbProfile.'/friends');
$user_fb_uid;
$sql = "SELECT `member_id`, `facebook_uid` FROM `members`";

$result = mysql_query($sql);

if($result){
       while($data = mysql_fetch_object($result)) {

$users[] = $data->member_id;
            $user_fb_uid[] = $data->facebook_uid;