5 Replies - 704 Views - Last Post: 24 October 2012 - 02:17 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

How to echo certain items in a directory with bash?

Posted 24 October 2012 - 06:54 AM

Recently, I started learning bash, and I'm pretty new at it. I have the below bash script in my home directory, and when I run it, it simply prints out each file and directory in my home directory in the format "item:(name of the file/directory)", which is exactly what I want. But now I want to be able to give two parameters to my script, from which both of them will be intigers, and first one will be the starting index and the second one ending index.

So let's say that my script is called item.sh, and if I call it like "./item.sh 3 5", it should simply print me the items in my directory, but starting from the third item, and printing until the fifth one. So it should print third, fourth and fifth items only. Let's say that I have this as the output of my unedited script:

item:Desktop
item:Development
item:Documents
item:Downloads
item:Dropbox
item:Eclipse
item:examples.desktop
item:git
item:grub.txt
item:hw.c~
item:hw.sh
item:loops.sh
item:Music
item:Pictures
item:Progex-Cloud
item:Public
item:public_html
item:rvm.sh
item:Softwares
item:Templates
item:trunk
item:Ubuntu
item:One
item:Videos

Then after editing my script and executing it like: "./item.sh 3 5", I want the output to be:

item:Documents
item:Downloads
item:Dropbox

For my initial program, I have the following script, which works just fine:

#!/bin/bash
for i in $( ls );
do
      echo item:$i
done

But when it comes to adding two parameters to my original script and achieving the needed output, I'm having difficulties. I have tried many things, but simply it doesn't work. Seems like I cannot find a proper algorihtm. If someone could give me just one working version, I would be glad. Lastly, I have something like this, which doesn't work as needed of course, and uses just one parameter.

#!/bin/bash
COUNTER=$1