2 Replies - 1260 Views - Last Post: 25 October 2012 - 09:19 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Yet Another "Best language to use" thread (cross platform, pre

Posted 24 October 2012 - 08:23 PM

Wait! Stop! I DID read the FAQs and use the search engine! But seriously I have a few specific questions I couldn't really find answers to.

I started coding almost 30 years ago in Apple and Amiga Basic and 6502 Assembly but it's been years since I actually tried to work any sort of real project out of my head from start to finish. I'm rusty but from dabbling recently with pygame and some tutorials for C# (Express 2010) and Dev C++ I think I can get back up to speed, at least with a relatively high level OO language.

So yeah, it's another "Best game programming language to use" but with some specific goals in mind...

1) I don't have a big budget, I don't have a budget at all. I'd like to stick to an open source IDE (and separate graphics engine, if needed).

2) The linux guy in me would like to steer a path towards a cross platform release, at least win and nix, should I ever get that far.

3) While it's easy for me to conceive of proof of concept and protos in a single player environment I'd eventually like to include multiplayer functionality so a readily available networking library is also important.

4) The graphics engine needs aren't that great, mostly 2D with a lot of animated sprites. Think your old school turn based civilization type of games.

5) There will be a ton of class instances and fairly data intensive as well. I'm concerned about I/O speed and with that in mind should I really be looking at a database right off the bat or can I get python (or whatever) to choke up reasonable file I/O speeds if I just make big arrays and store them in XML or something?

6) I like the idea of pre-compiled binaries, at least for the client.