4 Replies - 1054 Views - Last Post: 30 October 2012 - 06:19 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

How to get a jumpstart in the computer field?

Posted 27 October 2012 - 09:46 AM

Now, before we begin, I am an aspiring student with a mathematics/comp sci major. I am currently 21 and am a full-time student, and well, I work at a grocery store, and have been for the past half a decade. I have no computer certifications, nor professional experience with computers. Now, the job I have now is stable, but it is not doing me any good. I would like your 2-bits on if I should get out there and try to land an entry level job doing some computing job (it can be anything from repetitive data entry to 'x' task'). Also, I make $10/hr as a janitor, so I wasn't sure if other entry level positions would start me any higher, or at that rate, even.

Additionally, do these employers even offer part-time positions? Being a full-time student, it may be a tad difficult balancing.

Thanks, cheers.

This post has been edited by Zuelajindi: 27 October 2012 - 09:49 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How to get a jumpstart in the computer field?

#2 Apokio  Icon User is online

• D.I.C Addict

Re: How to get a jumpstart in the computer field?

Posted 27 October 2012 - 06:35 PM

I know many people who got their first IT job at Geek Squad fixing computers. You have to get an A+ certification but if you are looking to move into an IT field it will help anyway. The pay should be at least the same if not more. The best thing to do is just check around and ask. It doesn't hurt to ask and they worse they can say is no. You may also get some good leads on job opportunities.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

• Pancakes!
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 27 October 2012 - 07:39 PM