10 Replies - 3541 Views - Last Post: 03 November 2012 - 05:27 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How to stay marketable

Post icon  Posted 30 October 2012 - 10:02 AM

Hi all,

I am programmer with a BS in CS. I have been programming for 7+ years in C, UNIX and SQL. I feel I am falling behind, getting stuck in my career. I need to further my knowledge.

I was thinking about going back to school for a masters or some certifications.

Do I really need a masters to stay marketable? Would certifications be enough?

What do you guys think?

Thanks.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: How to stay marketable

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How to stay marketable

Posted 30 October 2012 - 11:11 AM

Schools are 10 years behind as well. And most of us don't give a crap about the diploma: It doesn't mean one has actual skills.

Look at the job postings in the big-city newspapers, Monster.com, contracts for hire on vWorker and so on. See what people are actually hiring for and what they're paying for those skills. Then learn accordingly.
Was This Post Helpful? 4
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 30 October 2012 - 12:08 PM

It might be worth applying for work for companies that use the technologies you have on your resume, who use also some other technologies that you want to work on. I.e: C with C++ or C with Objective C.

Or just apply directly for jobs in languages that you are interested in. With 7 years of experience in C you may be able to pick up new programming concepts quickly enough to get by.

For example, I have just switched roles into an environment that uses a big Java stack; Tomcat, Maven, Spring, Memcache etc. Previously I had only a bit of Java experience, now I am learning an awful lot on the job. It is possible.

This post has been edited by wordswords: 30 October 2012 - 12:08 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 4
  • +
  • -