5 Replies - 1390 Views - Last Post: 01 November 2012 - 03:40 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Hangman, word from txt file question

Posted 01 November 2012 - 02:11 AM

Hello,

I am creating a Hangman program in Visual Basic, I am very new to programming overall, and this is the first language I am trying out. I am currently in the process of making a hangman game. The game itself is finished and working fine. But I am not 100% happy about how it's working and I want to add some more "stuff".

Right now the words that the programs uses is in a hidden listbox in the program, the randomize and everything is working fine. But I want the program to pick a random word from a textfile instead, and then make the user guess it.

As stated I have basically no idea what I am doing, and I have no idea how to reach my goal. Since I am new all I have done is googled it, but didn't find any answer that I understood so I could implant it to my code. As long as I get it to work I am happy, and I do not ask anyone to write me the code, but just explain to me how I could do it or guide my in the right direction. At the moment I have no code and no idea how to make the program choose a random word from a textfile, thats why I am asking for help.

On a side note (Not so important): I can also choose numbers in my program, how do I remove that? Because I only have words and no numbers in hangman, so I want it to give a msgbox or something that tells the user that only letters are allowed if he tries to use numbers.

Thanks in advance for the help :)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Hangman, word from txt file question

• Friend lucky3 As IHelpable
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Hangman, word from txt file question

Posted 01 November 2012 - 02:35 AM

I'll assume that player enters letter/word in a TextBox, and then clicks "Submit" button (better then reacting to TextBox.TextChanged event, because he/she could accidentally hit wrong key).