2 Replies - 338 Views - Last Post: 03 November 2012 - 03:24 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

For...Next Loop & calculation error

Posted 03 November 2012 - 10:35 AM

I'm a beginner with programming & am taking a course in VB2010. The program (Windows Forms Application) I've been working on is a number classifier and there's an error with my calculation (my code is a mess) so the answer does not appear in the Output text box like it should. My instructor said if the For...Next loop's index = 2, then add n; if it divides, then add it the sum.
Its purpose is to:
1. take an integer entered by the user in a text box (named txtInput) and
2. perform a calculation and determine whether the number classification is:
a. a perfect number (the sum of the integer's divisors equals the original number),
b. an abundant number (the sum of the number's divisors is greater than the original number), or
c. a deficient number (the sum of the number's divisors is less than the original number), and
3. displays the number's class in a text box (named txtOutput).

Could someone please point me in the right direction? I'm very confused and frustrated. I've been searching for help for a couple days but can't find anything other than similar programs written in C, C++ or Java.

Public Class Form1

Private Sub btnClassify_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnClassify.Click

Dim intCount As Integer
        Dim n As Integer        ' number entered by user
        Dim m As Integer        ' counter? or is j the counter?
        Dim half As Integer     ' holds the divisors
        Dim sum As Integer = 1  ' holds the sum of the divisors

For j = 2 To m
            n = CInt(n).ToString
            half = (n \ 2 Mod 0)
            sum = half * (2 * n + (n - 1) * m)
            If n = sum Then
                txtOutput.Text = "perfect"
            ElseIf n < sum Then
                txtOutput.Text = "abundant"
            ElseIf n > sum Then