5 Replies - 2513 Views - Last Post: 19 November 2012 - 01:56 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

C# or Java for freelance and business.

Posted 05 November 2012 - 02:56 AM

Hey everyone! :)
I dont want to start a holywar, but I cant find answers to my questions on my own. Probably this post will look silly, but whatever.
So I am a junior C# developer now. I really like Microsoft technologies stack, I do quite well (for junior).
I am planning my career as follows: working fulltime for few years to get good .NET knowledge and than either start doing my own projects while still working fulltime either make a little company to create own products.
In both ways what I try to achieve is having own products which will be giving me passive income without too much maintenance work needed for them once created. I guess you know what I mean. Like..selling some program, or some website, etc, so it passively gives me money and I need to spend maybe few hours per week to maintain it.

Sure I dont have any projects ideas atm (well, I have one, it's web-project I am developing atm, it started out as "for fun" project but still can turn into some moneygiving thing).
Also I would like to have an ability to do freelance (odesk for example).
Would .NET be good for it? Would it be in demand, would it be effective to do what I plan?
Or is, say, Java better? More in demand, easier to find cheap server etc...

Also I am a bit lost what language fits what.
As far as I know - C# is perfect for standalone windows programs. It's also good for web-development, but still hard to find Microsoft servers and they are expensive. Or am I wrong?
Php seems perfect for web, but its ONLY for web.
Java...it's good for both, right? Or not?

Explain it to me, please! Sorry for lame questions!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: C# or Java for freelance and business.

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog