5 Replies - 3588 Views - Last Post: 05 November 2012 - 09:32 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Should I pursue a Computer Science degree?

Posted 05 November 2012 - 04:41 PM

I am a Sophomore at a community college and I'm still undecided about my major. No matter what major I pick, I will be behind a little bit. I love computers and I'm on one for most of the day. Because of that, I took the AP Computer Science class (Java) at my high school and I got a C in it. I am in an intro to CS course (C++) at my community college now and I have an A. Sometimes I like coding and sometimes I hate it. It's great when I understand the concepts being used and I seem to follow the logic correctly. Other times I just can't figure out the problems and it takes me hours to finish what should be a simple program. I'm also taking Calculus 1 right now and I hate it. I'm getting a C right now. If I pursued Computer Science I would be required to take up to Calc 3 plus physics courses. That does not sound fun at all.

Would Information Technology be a better route for me to take?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Should I pursue a Computer Science degree?

#2 Martyr2  Icon User is online

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Should I pursue a Computer Science degree?

Posted 05 November 2012 - 04:47 PM

Hard to say what direction you should go, it appears you are all over the place. Not too sure why you would have trouble with Java and not C++ since Java has much of its humble beginnings in the C++ world.

I think we all can say we hate programming sometimes when we are stuck with a really tough problem and the program isn't doing what we want it to do. However, if you like the challenge and get a thrill when you finally get it working, that tells me that you may do fine as a programmer.