6 Replies - 1080 Views - Last Post: 10 November 2012 - 11:36 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Advise on career change.

Posted 06 November 2012 - 05:12 PM

Hello Everyone,

First allow me to say that you guys have a great community here.

So here is where I would like some advise. I currently worked as a Staff Acoountant at a medium to large manufacturing company. I started this position almost one year ago and with no prior experience but I have adapted quickly and would consider my self to be very good at this job. And though I don't love it I find it tolerable and the work environment is good.

Recently I was contacted by an individual (whom I know) and offered a position as a entry level (very entry) Software programmer at Company that was recently purchased by a larger firm in the same field. I believe it is geared towards databases in commerce. I have no degree in computer sciences but I have always wanted to do software development. I have very little to no experience in the field except for some very basic HTML and some JAVA in Android and X-Code Objective C)for iPhone. The best thing I ever created was app that greeted you with a splash screen and then rendered a web page. Which I worked on for a total of maybe 8 hours. I do have a lot of desire. But I digress.

The position would give me a great opportunity I believe to enter a field I think I would love all while being taught and paid. So what is the problem?

The problem is that the salary I would receive is substantially less then what I currently make (about a 10k). I realize if I am good and successful the upside is huge but there are so many variables I don't know where to begin. I realize that even with all the drive I may have and even if I consider my self intelligent none of this guarantees any success. I also realize that in the software world companies are bought and dissolved rather easily.

Is the potential learning experience worth it?

Forgive the typos please.