Is learning VB6 now a complete waste of time?

• (8 Pages)
  • +
  • « First

109 Replies - 41572 Views - Last Post: 08 January 2014 - 04:44 AM Rate Topic: -----

• MrCupOfT
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Is learning VB6 now a complete waste of time?

Posted 07 December 2013 - 08:08 PM

It isn't too hard to customise the look of the IDE. (VS Themes). So if you want green text on a black console then you can.

What the change to .net from vb6 was improved tooling, analysis. Wait till the "Roslyn" based compiler technology and infrastructure gets fully integrated into VS. (Some of it already there.)

It also doesn't matter what language the library was used to make (so long as it compiled as IL / .net). I've in the past used 5/6 different programming language in one project!
I'm a poly-linguist programmer, I choose the language best suited for each part of the solution. Processing lots of XML use VB.net (as it has XML Literals.).
I enabled the language to evolve and advance, take Generics, LINQ Async & Await, DLR (Dynamic Language Runtime) which VB.net uses, PPL (Parallel Patterns Library) and NUGET.

If we include MONO it even has support for exploiting the GPU for processing. (Akin to CUDA). The MEF (Managed Extensibility Framework) has made writing Plugin code simpler. Even the current versions VS utilise it, and even Windows8
It has allowed us to test, and verify the code.
It has allowed us to exploit the power of multiple cores. (PPL)

Still we have to look at vb6 in context of when it came out, a the limitation of the hardware of the time. Even the C++ compiler and linker is held back by design decisions made long ago. Have a look a CLANG as compared against other compilers, how starting from scratch utilize that knowledge we learnt and do thing in a better way.