2 Replies - 533 Views - Last Post: 12 November 2012 - 07:32 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 sandrai@polarcomm.com  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: 26-March 12

Visual Studio 2010 error

Posted 09 November 2012 - 11:53 AM

I installed Microsoft Visual Studios 2010 Pro. I used it for a few weeks and decided that Microsoft Visual Basic 2010 Express would work just fine for my needs. FYI, our server (Windows 2003) will not handle Microsoft Visual Basic 2012 Express. So, I uninstalled Pro and installed Microsoft Visual Basic 2010 Express. When I open 2010 Express, and open a new project, Windows Form Application, save it, close it, then reopen it, I get this error, "The selected file is a solution file, but was created by a newer version of this application and cannot be opened." I assume something is left over from Microsoft Visual Studios 2010 Pro. I have uninstalled Express and reinstalled but it still doesn't work. However, I can open the solution by right clicking and open with, 2010 Express. Also the .vbproj file will open correctly. But I would like to be able to open the solution file without right clicking every time.

When I googled there were suggestions to check various fields in the .sln file and the .vbproj file. All look correct to me.
These are the contents of the .sln file when opened with Notepad:
Microsoft Visual Studio Solution File, Format Version 11.00
# Visual Basic Express 2010
Project("{F184B08F-C81C-45F6-A57F-5ABD9991F28F}") = "WindowsApplication1", "WindowsApplication1\WindowsApplication1.vbproj", "{BBC0A545-1087-4054-AB3C-113F2CF1A5AD}"
EndProject
Global
	GlobalSection(SolutionConfigurationPlatforms) = preSolution
		Debug|x86 = Debug|x86
		Release|x86 = Release|x86
	EndGlobalSection
	GlobalSection(ProjectConfigurationPlatforms) = postSolution
		{BBC0A545-1087-4054-AB3C-113F2CF1A5AD}.Debug|x86.ActiveCfg = Debug|x86
		{BBC0A545-1087-4054-AB3C-113F2CF1A5AD}.Debug|x86.Build.0 = Debug|x86
		{BBC0A545-1087-4054-AB3C-113F2CF1A5AD}.Release|x86.ActiveCfg = Release|x86
		{BBC0A545-1087-4054-AB3C-113F2CF1A5AD}.Release|x86.Build.0 = Release|x86
	EndGlobalSection
	GlobalSection(SolutionProperties) = preSolution
		HideSolutionNode = FALSE
	EndGlobalSection
EndGlobal

Also these are the contents of the .vbproj file when opened with Notepad:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Project ToolsVersion="4.0" DefaultTargets="Build" xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/developer/msbuild/2003">
  <PropertyGroup>
    <Configuration Condition=" '$(Configuration)' == '' ">Debug</Configuration>
    <Platform Condition=" '$(Platform)' == '' ">x86</Platform>
    <ProductVersion>
    </ProductVersion>
    <SchemaVersion>2.0</SchemaVersion>
    <ProjectGuid>{BBC0A545-1087-4054-AB3C-113F2CF1A5AD}</ProjectGuid>
    <OutputType>WinExe</OutputType>
    <StartupObject>WindowsApplication1.My.MyApplication</StartupObject>
    <RootNamespace>WindowsApplication1</RootNamespace>
    <AssemblyName>WindowsApplication1</AssemblyName>
    <FileAlignment>512</FileAlignment>
    <MyType>WindowsForms</MyType>
    <TargetFrameworkVersion>v4.0</TargetFrameworkVersion>
    <TargetFrameworkProfile>Client</TargetFrameworkProfile>
  </PropertyGroup>
  <PropertyGroup Condition=" '$(Configuration)|$(Platform)' == 'Debug|x86' ">
    <PlatformTarget>x86</PlatformTarget>
    <DebugSymbols>true</DebugSymbols>
    <DebugType>full</DebugType>
    <DefineDebug>true</DefineDebug>
    <DefineTrace>true</DefineTrace>
    <OutputPath>bin\Debug\</OutputPath>
    <DocumentationFile>WindowsApplication1.xml</DocumentationFile>
    <NoWarn>42016,41999,42017,42018,42019,42032,42036,42020,42021,42022</NoWarn>
  </PropertyGroup>
  <PropertyGroup Condition=" '$(Configuration)|$(Platform)' == 'Release|x86' ">
    <PlatformTarget>x86</PlatformTarget>
    <DebugType>pdbonly</DebugType>
    <DefineDebug>false</DefineDebug>
    <DefineTrace>true</DefineTrace>
    <Optimize>true</Optimize>
    <OutputPath>bin\Release\</OutputPath>
    <DocumentationFile>WindowsApplication1.xml</DocumentationFile>
    <NoWarn>42016,41999,42017,42018,42019,42032,42036,42020,42021,42022</NoWarn>
  </PropertyGroup>
  <PropertyGroup>
    <OptionExplicit>On</OptionExplicit>
  </PropertyGroup>
  <PropertyGroup>
    <OptionCompare>Binary</OptionCompare>
  </PropertyGroup>
  <PropertyGroup>
    <OptionStrict>Off</OptionStrict>
  </PropertyGroup>
  <PropertyGroup>
    <OptionInfer>On</OptionInfer>
  </PropertyGroup>
  <ItemGroup>
    <Reference Include="System" />
    <Reference Include="System.Data" />
    <Reference Include="System.Deployment" />
    <Reference Include="System.Drawing" />
    <Reference Include="System.Windows.Forms" />
    <Reference Include="System.Xml" />
    <Reference Include="System.Core" />
    <Reference Include="System.Xml.Linq" />
    <Reference Include="System.Data.DataSetExtensions" />
  </ItemGroup>
  <ItemGroup>
    <Import Include="Microsoft.VisualBasic" />
    <Import Include="System" />
    <Import Include="System.Collections" />
    <Import Include="System.Collections.Generic" />
    <Import Include="System.Data" />
    <Import Include="System.Drawing" />
    <Import Include="System.Diagnostics" />
    <Import Include="System.Windows.Forms" />
    <Import Include="System.Linq" />
    <Import Include="System.Xml.Linq" />
  </ItemGroup>
  <ItemGroup>
    <Compile Include="Form1.vb">
      <SubType>Form</SubType>
    </Compile>
    <Compile Include="Form1.Designer.vb">
      <DependentUpon>Form1.vb</DependentUpon>
      <SubType>Form</SubType>
    </Compile>
    <Compile Include="My Project\AssemblyInfo.vb" />
    <Compile Include="My Project\Application.Designer.vb">
      <AutoGen>True</AutoGen>
      <DependentUpon>Application.myapp</DependentUpon>
    </Compile>
    <Compile Include="My Project\Resources.Designer.vb">
      <AutoGen>True</AutoGen>
      <DesignTime>True</DesignTime>
      <DependentUpon>Resources.resx</DependentUpon>
    </Compile>
    <Compile Include="My Project\Settings.Designer.vb">
      <AutoGen>True</AutoGen>
      <DependentUpon>Settings.settings</DependentUpon>
      <DesignTimeSharedInput>True</DesignTimeSharedInput>
    </Compile>
  </ItemGroup>
  <ItemGroup>
    <EmbeddedResource Include="My Project\Resources.resx">
      <Generator>VbMyResourcesResXFileCodeGenerator</Generator>
      <LastGenOutput>Resources.Designer.vb</LastGenOutput>
      <CustomToolNamespace>My.Resources</CustomToolNamespace>
      <SubType>Designer</SubType>
    </EmbeddedResource>
  </ItemGroup>
  <ItemGroup>
    <None Include="My Project\Application.myapp">
      <Generator>MyApplicationCodeGenerator</Generator>
      <LastGenOutput>Application.Designer.vb</LastGenOutput>
    </None>
    <None Include="My Project\Settings.settings">
      <Generator>SettingsSingleFileGenerator</Generator>
      <CustomToolNamespace>My</CustomToolNamespace>
      <LastGenOutput>Settings.Designer.vb</LastGenOutput>
    </None>
  </ItemGroup>
  <Import Project="$(MSBuildToolsPath)\Microsoft.VisualBasic.targets" />
  <!-- To modify your build process, add your task inside one of the targets below and uncomment it. 
       Other similar extension points exist, see Microsoft.Common.targets.
  <Target Name="BeforeBuild">
  </Target>
  <Target Name="AfterBuild">
  </Target>
  -->
</Project>


Could anyone help me with this please?
Thanks,
Sandra

This post has been edited by AdamSpeight2008: 12 November 2012 - 02:08 PM


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Visual Studio 2010 error

#2 Ionut  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 385
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,057
  • Joined: 17-July 10

Re: Visual Studio 2010 error

Posted 09 November 2012 - 04:02 PM

Quote

save it, close it, then reopen it, I get this error

Reopen it from Visual Studio or by double clicking on .sln file?
As you said that you can open it with "open with" function, I assume that it's a problem of association to the file. Check registry and see which application is .sln associated to and try to change this(right click -> properties -> etc)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 sandrai@polarcomm.com  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: 26-March 12

Re: Visual Studio 2010 error

Posted 12 November 2012 - 07:32 AM

Yes, that does work, my .sln was associated with VS 2008. Is there any way to be able to open solutions created with VS 2010 and still be able to open solutions created with VS 2008 without converting them to VS 2010?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1