3 Replies - 1761 Views - Last Post: 18 November 2012 - 11:28 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

I feel like I've really slacked off.

Posted 09 November 2012 - 03:32 PM

Hi guys, kind of a long post so bear with me.

Basically, I feel like a lump. I'm a university student about to graduate with a BS in Computer Science with a mix of electrical engineering/mechanical mixed in, so I'd be a certified engineer as well I suppose.

Basically all I do in life is do relatively well in school by doing my share of work, waste time on the internet, play online games, exercise to stay in shape.

Other than that, I do nothing else. No job (only had a tech support job for a couple of years during university), never had an internship and no real knowledge gaining though I did buy code complete and the pragmatic programmer recently for some reading.

I know how to use java (most used language), perl (basics, I messed with it for some days and liked it well enough), C# (love it), C/C++ (terrible at it). No experience in anything important like web-based languages and such, don't even know how to create a website really, no courses for that where I'm at and I didn't pick it up myself.

I sometimes look at freelance coding sites with projects, and I have no idea how to do any of those things and see a lot of people offering/bidding. I'm too afraid to offer myself because I know there are far more qualified people and someone's time and money are at stake here. Also I'm just not familiar with any of the stuff mentioned 99% of the time.