8 Replies - 4508 Views - Last Post: 10 November 2012 - 09:57 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

New to Java - Base Conversion lab

Posted 09 November 2012 - 07:25 PM

Hello everyone,
I am an engineering student in first year computer programming and ive run into some problems with this course. I am a strong math student, and even stronger with computers so I thought this course would come naturally. Apparently not. Hopefully I can get some clarity from this forum as my teacher is insanely un-approachable and makes getting extra help a nightmare. So here goes:

The purpose of the lab (which I will post) is to create a base conversion program.
I am completely lost. It just won't click in my head. I can tackle the most complex physics problems, yet falter at a basic java lab. I am very new to java and have only covered the basics so far. I am in no way asking you to do my homework! I just need to know how to get started. Any pointers would be awesome! Thanks very much. Below are the instructions, and I will post my code so far when I switch over to my Windows partition.

"Topic: More Arithmetic
In this lab, we will write two more short programs which use Java arithmetic operators. In the problems below, assume that the user will be well-behaved and will always enter the expected kind of input.

BaseConvert.java:
One algorithm for converting a base 10 number to another base b involves repeatedly dividing by b. Each time a division is performed, the remainder and quotient are saved. At each step, the dividend is the quotient from the preceding step; the divisor is always b. The algorithm stops when the quotient is 0. The number in the new base is the sequence of remainders in reverse order (the last one computed goes first; the first one goes last).