2 Replies - 616 Views - Last Post: 18 November 2012 - 04:31 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Username/Password

Posted 11 November 2012 - 06:08 PM

I am new to programming, and I have some questions about adding a login option to my program. What are the correct ways to go about storing and retrieving the username and password? For now, and I know that this is in no way the best choice, I have been encrypting them to a textfile, reading from the textfile, and comparing strings. I can imagin various risks in this method; how should I approach this? Any help is welcome, Thanks!
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Username/Password

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Username/Password

Posted 11 November 2012 - 06:18 PM

POPULAR

Well there are various "levels" of protection you can implement when store passwords. Typically you store the password, hashed using a secure hashing algorithm in a database for the users account. When the user enters their username and password, you use the username to find the record, rehash the password they provided and compare that directly with what is stored in the database. If the two match, they are granted access.

Now how you go about hashing the password is the trick. You want to first of all use a secure, unbroken, and tested algorithm. Never a good idea to create your own or use one of the hashing algorithms already compromised like MD5 or SHA-1.

It is advised that you at least use an algorithm like SHA-256, SHA-512 or Whirlpool at bare minimum with a salt. A salt is a random generated string that is combined with the password before encrypting, and then encrypted.