6 Replies - 1643 Views - Last Post: 13 November 2012 - 02:24 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Beginner seeking for Advice

Posted 12 November 2012 - 05:23 AM

hello,
am gonna tell you "what am i" so maybe you can help me to find the right path to start cause i really don't know what to do now.

First of all i want to say that am not a complete beginner in programming , i was in computer science section at high school where we did programming and algorithm for 3 years, and now am at the 1st year in college, also in the Computer Science department, we are learning "C" but the process is very slow and they are
"re-teaching" us everything from the beginning which i really hated :(/> .

I have a great patient for games and actually i made a couple of flash games, I've been working with flash for more than 2 years and i really enjoyed it, i even made websites and games and get payed for them, but i don't want to make flash games anymore, not because i don't like flash, but i don't want to be "restricted" by flash, i don't know if you are following me here, but the thing is that i want to be a real programmer not just a flash developer, i want to create my own tools to make my own games and applications, in other therm i want to create a game from A to Z , so am sure that i don't need a book or a Tutorial that told me how an if statement or a for loop works.
I looked in many other forums to get a good starting point and mostly all of them said :
"know what you are doing->pick a language->start making your game"

well, i know what am doing and i already picked the language, C++, or maybe C# is more recommended for game development but i have a "feeling" who tell me that it is better to start with C++,
now the "start making game" step, here am completely blocked, i don't even know how to write a "Hello world" C++ program, yes i know that i had to learn c++ statements and keywords, but i dunno, i just can't found where to start.