6 Replies - 2469 Views - Last Post: 14 January 2013 - 12:12 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

What laptop to get ?

Posted 13 November 2012 - 03:28 AM

Hi guys,

I need your opinion. I want to buy a laptop and I don't know which one to get.
I am interested between HP or Dell. My budget is from 450-500$. Also if you know a better configuration or a better laptop feel free to write.

HP Pavilion g6t-2200 Notebook PC
2nd generation Intel® Core™ i3-2370M Processor (2.4 GHz)
1GB AMD Radeon™ HD 7670M Discrete-Class Graphics
4GB DDR3 System Memory (1 Dimm)
500GB 5400RPM Hard Drive
HP Pavilion g6t-2200

Dell Inspiron 15 Notebook (Inspiron 3520)
2nd Generation Intel® Core™ i3-2350M (3M Cache, 2.3 GHz)
Intel® HD Graphics 3000
4GB Single Channel DDR3 1600MHz
500GB 5400 RPM SATA Hard Drive
Dell Inspirion 15 (3520)

I need my laptop for programming, because in my Faculty I am studying computer science and engineering. Also the next semester I want to take 3D-animation, so I want my laptop to support Maja or Autodesk 3d Max.

Currently I have hp omninbook xe4500 and I had no problem with CodeBlock, but when I started to learn HTML/CSS/JavaSript I started using Aptana and the performance on this hardware was like hell. Also when I take Java I had the same problem with NetBeans and I am still having it with Eclipse now.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What laptop to get ?

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What laptop to get ?

Posted 13 November 2012 - 08:16 AM

without knowing what you have done to your Omnibook I am going to say *ANYTHING* should be an improvement. The base specs on an Omnibook were: Pentium 4-M 1.7 GHz, 256 MB RAM, 30 GB HDD and is what... a better part of ten years old?

http://www.cnet.com/...7-20001966.html

If you are going into 3d animation for a class I would suggest the HP with the decent video card and to throw in more RAM when you get it. It looks like it can upgrade to 8gb of DDR3.. that won't be a bad idea.