2 Replies - 1668 Views - Last Post: 15 November 2012 - 05:25 AM

#1 vikramsinh_shinde  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: 22-February 12

MSSQL Server Database restore error

Posted 14 November 2012 - 08:40 AM

I am trying to restore a database on MSSQL 2005 from backup of database which is created on SQL SERVER 2000.

On SQL server 2005 server , database compatibility level set to (80).

I am trying to run following for restore,


ALTER DATABASE IWT
SET SINGLE_USER WITH
ROLLBACK IMMEDIATE
RESTORE DATABASE IWT
FROM DISK = 'C:\IWT.bak'
WITH MOVE 'IWT_Data' TO 'c:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL.1\MSSQL\DATA\RAR_Data.mdf',
MOVE 'IWT_Log' TO 'c:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL.1\MSSQL\DATA\RAR_log.ldf',
REPLACE
 
ALTER DATABASE IWT SET MULTI_USER
GO




but getting error as,


Msg 3201, Level 16, State 2, Line 4
Cannot open backup device 'C:\IWT.bak'. Operating system error 2(error not found).
Msg 3013, Level 16, State 1, Line 4
RESTORE DATABASE is terminating abnormally.



I have tried all resources available online but no luck.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: MSSQL Server Database restore error

#2 e_i_pi  Icon User is offline

  • = -1
  • member icon

Reputation: 795
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,681
  • Joined: 30-January 09

Re: MSSQL Server Database restore error

Posted 14 November 2012 - 01:03 PM

Have you tried running SSMS as Administrator? Sometimes there are directory permission issues.

EDIT: Here's a link that might help you.

This post has been edited by e_i_pi: 14 November 2012 - 01:06 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 vikramsinh_shinde  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: 22-February 12

Re: MSSQL Server Database restore error

Posted 15 November 2012 - 05:25 AM

View Poste_i_pi, on 14 November 2012 - 01:03 PM, said:

Have you tried running SSMS as Administrator? Sometimes there are directory permission issues.

EDIT: Here's a link that might help you.


Backup file was corrupted. I tried with new backup and it worked.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1