6 Replies - 3023 Views - Last Post: 20 November 2012 - 09:20 AM

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

working on music software, what are good resources?

Posted 18 November 2012 - 08:29 PM

im not sure if this is the right sub forum, so if i posted in the wrong one please move it, sorry.

As a musician and a person who will be graduating soonish, I was thinking what it would be like working on software to be used by musicians. The problem is, i have zero experience with this and I dont even know where to start with it. What kind of books should I look up to prepare me to actually work on software with audio, and what else should I know? Im looking for a general over view kind of thing, because I dont know where specifically I would like to focus my programming ability for audio production. What kind of math is necessary, what books are good to learn, what kind of documentation should I be looking at and any kind of meaningful help a person can throw at me will be appreciated.

(and before people with obvious emotional problems step in, no I dont think that im going to be handed a job after graduation, nor do I believe anything that is a variation of this theme...)

This post has been edited by NecroWinter: 18 November 2012 - 08:30 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: working on music software, what are good resources?

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: working on music software, what are good resources?

Posted 19 November 2012 - 05:41 PM

My standard beginner resources post

We have a tutorials section and a learning C# series of articles.

First learn the language by working 2-5 "Learn C# in 30 days" type books cover to cover. Do a couple hundred on-line tutorial projects where you build what you're told to build, the way you are told to build it WITH AN EXPLANATION OF WHY so you can learn.