6 Replies - 2272 Views - Last Post: 05 December 2012 - 11:07 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Software Development Methodology

Posted 19 November 2012 - 02:52 PM

Hey guys, I'm studying Computer Science at university and I'm doing quick research regarding which Software Development Methodologies software developers use. I've been on this site a few times but have never officially joined so I thought now would be a good time. If any Software developers could contribute 20 seconds of their lives by having an input into my research I would truly be grateful: My Question

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Software Development Methodology

• Your Friendly Local Curmudgeon
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Software Development Methodology

Posted 20 November 2012 - 09:08 PM

This is one of my favorite articles on the subject, which may explain why I find your question difficult to answer.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

• Pancakes!
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 20 November 2012 - 09:50 PM

It is not sensible to consider methodologies as being applied literally, because they never are. Nobody ever used literal waterfall (it's really a straw man concocted by people who have a New Idea and need a big bad to set it against), and I've never heard of anyone applying Extreme or Agile or other methodologies without adapting them. So these are guidelines. And as guidelines they make a lot more sense than as laws: they give you a basis on which to structure your team's interaction, and they encourage you to codify the aspects of development that you think need to be codified.