8 Replies - 1495 Views - Last Post: 29 November 2012 - 04:02 PM

Poll: Posted answer doesn't exist sometimes (2 member(s) have cast votes)

Did it happen to you (please read the description of problem first)?

  1. Yes (2 votes [100.00%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 100.00%

  2. No (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  3. Not sure (but have a strange feeling it did happen) (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 lucky3  Icon User is offline

  • Friend lucky3 As IHelpable
  • member icon

Reputation: 231
  • View blog
  • Posts: 769
  • Joined: 19-October 11

Posted answer doesn't exist sometimes

Posted 21 November 2012 - 03:02 AM

From time to time I notice, that my answer to the topic is simply gone. Today I answered to the topic RIP Mister Bean, clicked the "Post" button, and went to C#, VB.NET forums, and read some topics there. After some 15-20 minutes, I checked that topic for possible new answers, and mine simply wasn't there. I couldn't restore my entry by going back in browser, and CTRL+Z in text editor, so I didn't write another answer at the end.

I noticed such thing once or twice before. Did it happen to anyone else?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Posted answer doesn't exist sometimes

#2 raghav.naganathan  Icon User is offline

  • Perfectly Squared ;)
  • member icon

Reputation: 408
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,440
  • Joined: 14-September 12

Re: Posted answer doesn't exist sometimes

Posted 21 November 2012 - 03:47 AM

I have experienced that as well lucky3. That most often happens when you post some answer and then suddenly you get an error page which says

Quote


Service Temporarily Unavailable


The server is temporarily unable to service your request due to maintenance downtime or capacity problems. Please try again later.


When you check back after the site is available, you will notice that the answer you posted has just disappeared into thin air.

That is why I do a ctrl+c of all my answers before clicking the post button :)

regards,
Raghav

This post has been edited by raghav.naganathan: 21 November 2012 - 04:03 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

  • Pancakes!
  • member icon


Reputation: 8001
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,707
  • Joined: 19-March 11

Re: Posted answer doesn't exist sometimes

Posted 21 November 2012 - 07:07 AM

I don't know if this is the issue you're having, but you should know that there is a short outage at 2 AM Boston time every night. If you're counter-cyclical to the US, obviously, this falls in the middle of your day.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is offline

  • Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

Reputation: 5675
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12,192
  • Joined: 02-June 10

Re: Posted answer doesn't exist sometimes

Posted 21 November 2012 - 07:31 AM

This has been documented before.
Rarely, but it happens, you can hit post and notice that you didn't stay in the thread but instead went directly to the forum list page. If that happens you know your post wasn't posted.

I've gotten into the automatic habit of Cntrl-A, Cntrl-C before hitting post. That way my entire post is copied to the clipboard. If the post fails I go back to the thread, reload the thread by clicking its title (which is a link) then paste in my comments on the refreshed page.

This has been documented before.
Rarely, but it happens, you can hit post and notice that you didn't stay in the thread but instead went directly to the forum list page. If that happens you know your post wasn't posted.

I've gotten into the automatic habit of Cntrl-A, Cntrl-C before hitting post. That way my entire post is copied to the clipboard. If the post fails I go back to the thread, reload the thread by clicking its title (which is a link) then paste in my comments on the refreshed page.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

  • Pancakes!
  • member icon


Reputation: 8001
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,707
  • Joined: 19-March 11

Re: Posted answer doesn't exist sometimes

Posted 21 November 2012 - 07:39 AM

If you use Firefox, the Lazarusplugin might be a good solution for you. Briefly, it provides a simple recovery mechanism for lost text from browser text boxes.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#6 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is offline

  • Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

Reputation: 5675
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12,192
  • Joined: 02-June 10

Re: Posted answer doesn't exist sometimes

Posted 21 November 2012 - 07:42 AM

I'm a Safari guy. I like the integration with iCloud to keep my bookmarks sync'd between multiple computers/devices.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 lucky3  Icon User is offline

  • Friend lucky3 As IHelpable
  • member icon

Reputation: 231
  • View blog
  • Posts: 769
  • Joined: 19-October 11

Re: Posted answer doesn't exist sometimes

Posted 21 November 2012 - 11:11 AM

I guess I'll have to adopt new habit then ;)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 BetaWar  Icon User is offline

  • #include "soul.h"
  • member icon

Reputation: 1199
  • View blog
  • Posts: 7,308
  • Joined: 07-September 06

Re: Posted answer doesn't exist sometimes

Posted 29 November 2012 - 02:55 PM

It isn't a terribly new bug. I am not sure what causes it, but sometimes posts just don't get posted. I first noticed it in IE, but it also happens in Chrome for me so I don't believe it to be a browser-based issue. I have gotten into the habit of Ctrl-A + Ctrl-C before hitting the post button, just in case.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 Atli  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 3730
  • View blog
  • Posts: 6,017
  • Joined: 08-June 10

Re: Posted answer doesn't exist sometimes

Posted 29 November 2012 - 04:02 PM

View PosttlhIn`toq, on 21 November 2012 - 02:42 PM, said:

I'm a Safari guy. I like the integration with iCloud to keep my bookmarks sync'd between multiple computers/devices.

All the browsers have that feature now, you know. There are even AddOns that can sync stuff between different browsers. (Xmarks works pretty well.)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1