10 Replies - 1014 Views - Last Post: 27 November 2012 - 10:19 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Creating a Portfolio

Posted 21 November 2012 - 07:55 PM

Hello, everyone

I'm new to this forum and fairly new to Computer Science, and this technological world.
I started programming, mainly in Java, about 2 years ago. I've gotten very interested in Software Engineering or, really I don't know the proper term, writing code.

My dream/goal at the moment is to obtain some sort of Software Development job or internship. I already had an Android Developer position recently but I really wouldn't count that since I din't learn much.
Well enough off-content talk about myself and to the point of this post. By the way, pardon any grammatical errors or anything that doesn't make sense. English is my second language and I'm learning quite a bit now that I'm in college.

So, what I hope to create is a Portfolio for the reasons mention above, my dream job/internship. I really don't know were to start with this project. I've already done a bunch of programs on my spare time. Really, most of them are just worthless since I use them to refresh some concepts. But occasionally I try to make something that challenges me to think like, a "Recipe Application" or a "Hospital patients Application". Can anyone suggest anything else that might help me?

At the moment I'm thinking about uploading my content to a free website, because that might be best? I have't done a whole lot of research, about this portfolio idea.

Currently, I'm learning about graphics(Developing video games).... I love to play video games, and I was interested in learning how exactly they are created. A bit complicated for someone like me who is in someways "stupid" :stupid:/> relative to all the smart individuals I've seen in forums, but I'm starting to like it so much I even stop doing homework at times :nervous:/> .