5 Replies - 3826 Views - Last Post: 02 December 2012 - 09:11 PM

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Improve performance on remote query

Posted 29 November 2012 - 01:33 AM

I am not so much of a beginner to MSSQL but I only know the basics of querying and joining tables.

The day before yesterday, I started learning to create clustered and non-clustered indeces with the help of google searches. Today, I am trying to learn to read the execution plan and I notice that it takes a lot of time in the remote query.

For the 300,000+ records-table which I call via a view, the cost of running the remote query is 99% with Actual Number of Rows equal to 286,736. I used this table in a left join. Estimated operator cost is 103.64(99%).

To be honest, I am still confused with these figures since I am still starting to learn to read the graphical representation so I hope someone could guide me. This 103.64 estimated operator cost, is it too much?

The remote table is usually either directly called in the stored procedure or called in a view.

I understand that this really should take a lot of time since there is an expensive cost to query remotely and since the tables I am calling remotely really do have a lot of rows.

I call one table at a time though. One table contains more than 5 million rows while the other has more than 300 thousand. I use these tables for filtering or joining.

I don't know if the tables I am calling remotely are clustered or not and I have no way of knowing due to the lack of access.

Now, I tried adding cluster to the view but I get the error that it is not schema bound.

I am not sure what to do. My goal is to improve performance of my website. It usually takes 30-35 seconds to execute the query. When I added clustered index to one of my local tables used in joins, performace speeds up and time it takes to run query decreased to 21-24 seconds.

Now, this is still too slow for a web application as I believe.