New to java (and programming in general)

• (2 Pages)
  • +

17 Replies - 607 Views - Last Post: 01 December 2012 - 04:47 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

New to java (and programming in general)

Posted 30 November 2012 - 04:00 AM

Hey all,

I am new to programming (I have done some basics which I really enjoyed but honestly, just the tip of the iceberg stuff)

I'm starting a degree in Software Development in February and I was thinking about working through this book: http://www.amazon.co.../dp/0273771388/

which was given to me by a friend who recently finished his Computer Science BSc. Anyway, my question is, does having prior knowledge of coding (i.e that taught from this book) help on a degree course? I don't want to have to learn a load of stuff and then effectively forget it and relearn it when I start the course. I know in some subjects outside of IT this is the case....

Hope you can advise!

This post has been edited by macosxnerd101: 30 November 2012 - 06:28 AM
Reason for edit:: Removed referral link

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: New to java (and programming in general)

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: New to java (and programming in general)

Posted 30 November 2012 - 04:12 AM

I don't know that book. It has no reviews by the looks but is in its 9th edition, so try to check out previous reviews.
Otherwise, get coding NOW and keep going. tbh, i think someone who is going to enjoy and fit into programming as a career shouldn't really need to be told that. You should really be in the position of someone who has to be told by his parents to stop gazing into a monitor and go outside and get some exercise.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 30 November 2012 - 04:15 AM

View Postg00se, on 30 November 2012 - 04:12 AM, said:

I don't know that book. It has no reviews by the looks but is in its 9th edition, so try to check out previous reviews.