7 Replies - 2718 Views - Last Post: 08 December 2012 - 02:49 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Returning Array from a Function

Posted 01 December 2012 - 07:50 PM

Hey guys, I've worked far long enough so this is kind of a last resort kinda post. I'm having trouble with functions and arrays, I need to write a function that returns an array of userinput (text from textbox, split by characters/spaces). I can't seem to work out returning the array to use on my other functions, anybody have an idea what I'm doing wrong? Maybe what I should be doing instead? I am a novice in VB.Net- sometimes it clicks sometimes it doesn't, please let me know what you guys think. Thanks.

This is the incomplete code I currently have in my function, for grabbing userinput to begin with...
    Public Function Example(ByVal test As String) As String()

Dim str As String
        Dim strArr() As String
        Dim count As Integer
        Dim output As String

str = Form1.Textbox1.Text
        strArr = str.Split(CChar(CChar(",") & (" ")))

For count = 0 To strArr.GetUpperBound(0)
            MessageBox.Show(strArr(count))

Next
       Return ?
    End Function

Below is my original sum formula for finding numbers between comma's, without using an Array.

Public Function SumFunction(ByVal srchTerm As String, ByVal stringToSearch As String) As Integer

Dim intGetPosition As Integer = stringToSearch.IndexOf(srchTerm)

Dim comma As Integer = 0
    Dim comma2 As Integer = 0
    Dim count As Integer = 0
    Dim total As Integer = 0
    Dim number As String

Do While comma > -1
        Try
            comma = stringToSearch.IndexOf(srchTerm, comma2)

'If/When there's no comma at the end...
            If comma = -1 Then
                comma = stringToSearch.IndexOf(srchTerm, comma2)
                number = stringToSearch.Substring(comma2)
                total = CInt(total + CDbl(number))
                comma2 = comma + 1
                count = count + 1
            End If