Calculate PI using Random Numbers

having big problems with my code!

Page 1 of 1

2 Replies - 41767 Views - Last Post: 11 July 2007 - 02:32 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Calculate PI using Random Numbers

Post icon  Posted 10 July 2007 - 05:17 PM

Ok, I am having problems with my code, I am a newbie but I think I am close to the solution. here is the assignment:

In geometry the ratio of the circumference of a circle to its diameter is known as π. The value of π can be estimated from an infinite series of the form:

π / 4 = 1 - (1/3) + (1/5) - (1/7) + (1/9) - (1/11) + ...

There is another novel approach to calculate π. Imagine that you have a dart board that is 2 units square. It inscribes a circle of unit radius. The center of the circle coincides with the center of the square. Now imagine that you throw darts at that dart board randomly. Then the ratio of the number of darts that fall within the circle to the total number of darts thrown is the same as the ratio of the area of the circle to the area of the square dart board. The area of a circle with unit radius is just π square unit. The area of the dart board is 4 square units. The ratio of the area of the circle to the area of the square is π / 4.

To simuluate the throwing of darts we will use a random number generator. The Math class has a random() method that can be used. This method returns random numbers between 0.0 (inclusive) to 1.0 (exclusive). There is an even better random number generator that is provided the Random class. We will first create a Random object called randomGen. This random number generator needs a seed to get started. We will read the time from the System clock and use that as our seed.

Random randomGen = new Random ( System.currentTimeMillis() );