5 Replies - 8001 Views - Last Post: 08 December 2012 - 09:45 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Creating a Basic OS C++

Posted 06 December 2012 - 08:49 PM

Hey guys, I am a mid-level C++ programmer (still in High school but pretty good at it). I just got finished learning C++ GUIs and I am ready to take my programming to the next level. What are the basic requirements to creating a basic operating system? Like, what major pieces of code need to be in it to make it a virtual machine?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Creating a Basic OS C++

• "Hurry up and wait"
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Creating a Basic OS C++

Posted 06 December 2012 - 08:59 PM

POPULAR

The defacto place to go for information on creating your own OS, is http://wiki.osdev.or...anded_Main_Page this has everything you need in one place to get started. This is not something that can be covered in a few posts. You need to do your own research, download opens source OS's and look at the code to see how it is done.

Writing your own OS is not something for the faint of heart, it takes time, time, time, and dedication.

Not too sure if this is a good project to take your programming to the next level. You need to learn A LOT, and I mean A LOT of internals to get everything to work. It won't hurt to learn a bit of Assembly for the boot loader and other things.

2 words for your journey... GOOD LUCK...
Was This Post Helpful? 5
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 07 December 2012 - 05:06 PM

What would be a better idea for taking my programming to the next level then... just wondering
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• #include "soul.h"
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 07 December 2012 - 05:12 PM

Well, I tried this once. I'll simply point you to this: http://www.dreaminco...c/107438-modos/ for more information on that.