I've wasted a couple of years on nothing

• (2 Pages)
  • +

22 Replies - 7579 Views - Last Post: 29 October 2013 - 07:36 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

I've wasted a couple of years on nothing

Posted 07 December 2012 - 05:13 AM

So. I want to make games. Just for myself. Just for fun. Small 2D games.

My problem:

I start questioning my decisions, and then I can't focus.

Let me explain,

When I started programming, I started with C++. That was 6 years ago, and I had no idea what a variable was. I gave up, and continued playing videogames. Then I tried to get into Java, made a Hello World, and gave up again. After having been at a little independent company, with a programmer, that recommended C#, I tried to get into that, but failed. World of Warcraft then stole 3000 hours of my life, and made my grades considerably lower, than they would have been. I started at a CS course, that taught Java, learned a ton, then I moved away, and dropped out of my class. Then I moved back in with my parents, and I started programming in C# again, then Python, then C++, then Java, Then Javascript, then ActionScript, then I enrolled in a new course in Web Development, and was taught HTML, CSS, Javascript and PHP. So right now I am at a point where I have NO idea what to do.

A lot of you wonderful regulars, gave me a lot of help, when I was messing around with C#, but I ran into some problems about writing in a language, when I actually don't like Windows 8, and the direction that Microsoft is moving Windows in. I thought about XNA, but I read in here, and on other sites, that it is pretty much dead.

I found FlashPunk, which is an ActionScript engine, and had a little fun in that, but I feel like the problem solving is a bit above my level. I am constantly googling everything, and I feel like, I'm not programming, but just finding solutions that will work, till I forget how to do it again.