#16 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

• Pancakes!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: I've wasted a couple of years on nothing

Posted 07 December 2012 - 08:32 AM

View Postxclite, on 07 December 2012 - 10:08 AM, said:

View Postjon.kiparsky, on 07 December 2012 - 09:16 AM, said:

It sounds to me like you've acquired a lot of knowledge about programming, but you haven't done a lot of actual programming.

I do this. Basically, at some point, you need to start building things. Reading about and exploring programming will keep you at the adept level forever - you have to get your hands dirty to build any real confidence.

Yep. When I started programming, I really felt like I had no idea what I was doing, all of the time. Now I generally feel like I have no idea what I'm doing, but wait, this problem is like that one, and I know how to do that, and I can probably figure out this bit over here, because I've solved it in this other language for this other project... and by the time I'm done recycling stuff I've already done before, there's not a whole lot of new stuff to implement.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Posted 07 December 2012 - 09:02 AM

View PostDarenR, on 07 December 2012 - 07:57 AM, said:

Nothing is more satisfying then when you finish a project and you can say-- hey I made that---

This.

The reason for all the late nights.
All the headaches.
All the feels of helplessness.

That single moment when you remember WHY you do this.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 07 December 2012 - 10:26 AM

It's just a motivation issue. It's hard to stay motivated alone. I think at one time or another we all bought into the romanticism of game creation. It's not all you've imagined, I'm sure. Game programming is hard, and it is very easy to become discouraged. What you really need is motivation from others to keep you going. Maybe find a Meetup.com group in your area or something.