4 Replies - 2411 Views - Last Post: 10 December 2012 - 08:12 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Putting unknown number of lines of input into a for loop

Posted 07 December 2012 - 09:52 AM

I'm new to computer programming and Python. I'm using a tutorial site, which gives me exercises to complete, to learn Python 3. My current task is to do the following:For this program, the first line of input is an integer width. Then, there are some lines of text; the line "END" indicates the end of the text. For each line of text, you need to print out a centered version of it, by adding periods .. to the left and right, so that the total length of each line of text is width. (All input lines will have length at most width.) Centering means that the number of periods added to the left and added to the right should be equal if possible; if needed we allow one more period on the left than the right.I'd like to know how to loop an unknown number of lines of input into a for loop.
width=int(input())
a=str(input())
lenLin=len(a)
aopor=width-lenLin
aopor=aopor//2
aopor=aopor*"."
a=a+aopor
a=aopor+a
lenLin=len(a)
if lenLin<width:
   a="."+a
print(a)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Putting unknown number of lines of input into a for loop

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Putting unknown number of lines of input into a for loop

Posted 07 December 2012 - 10:32 AM

First, decide which loop you want to use Opening and reading files
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 09 December 2012 - 09:05 AM

While loop it will loop until the condition returns false similar to Boolean Statement rather the variable is True or False.

Here is a simple two lines code that I made, that I have created an infinity loop (will repeat itself forever, until you break the program) where the condition will always return True. So you will be printing always Hello World!

while(True):
    print("Hello World!")

Output
Hello World!
(and so on)